Oklahoma State University - Tulsa
Oklahoma State University - Tulsa
Borrowing Policy - Library

Borrowing Policy


Book Returns

Book returns are located at the circulation cesk and to the left of the library entrance. An outside book drop is located on the west side of the Main Hall Building. Book returns also are located inside the Helmerich Research Center and inside the south entrance of the North Classroom Building.

Loan Periods

  • Undergraduates loan period for books is 30 days.
  • Graduates loan period for books is 60 days.
  • Faculty loan period for books is 120 days.
  • Staff loan period for books is 30 days.
  • Videos checkout for 7 days.
  • Electronic equipment checkout for 7 days.

Loan period for reserve materials is determined by faculty.

Renewals

Library books may be renewed one time, provided they have not been requested or recalled by another library user. You may renew books online (see Renew Books on the library webpage), in person or by phone at (918) 594-8130 during library hours. It is not necessary to bring the books with you to renew them in person.

Student and faculty book renewal period is an additional 30 days. Renewal of other items is based on the original check-out period.

No holds or renewals for electronic equipment.

Due to the purpose of reserves, neither renewal nor holds for course reserve items is available.

Requests for Interlibrary Loan book renewals can be made by email to the Interlibrary Loan Office at tulsaill@okstate.edu, or by calling (918) 594-8138. Please allow 48 hours for a response from the lending library for granting or rejecting the renewal.

Requests and Recalls

A request can be made for an item that is checked out. It will be held for you upon return. Please ask for assistance at the circulation or reference desk.

Fines

  • Main Collection: Fines are 10¢ per day for each overdue item.
  • Reserve and Test Materials: Fines are $1 per day.
  • Interlibrary Loan Materials: Fines are 25¢ per day.
  • Electronic Equipment Materials: Fines are $25.00 per day.
  • Faculty: Faculty members are fine exempt.
  • Staff: Staff members are fine exempt.

Billing

Current students may request to transfer a balance over $5 to the Bursar's Office.

Unreturned Materials

Main collection materials: You are billed for the current replacement price of the item(s), plus a $5 non-refundable re-processing fee for each item. If a lost item is returned after being paid for, you are credited only for the replacement cost of the item. The reprocessing fee is non-refundable. ALL library users are charged for lost or damaged books checked out on their IDs. Unpaid balances over $5 are transferred to the student's Bursar's account if they remain unpaid. If the books are returned prior to 100 days the replacement charge and processing charge will be waived and the fines are pro-rated.

Damaged Materials

If the damaged item is unusable, you are billed the replacement price of the item, plus a $5 reprocessing fee. Fees for repairable items vary based on the repair needed.

Loss of Borrowing Privileges

Borrowing privileges can be revoked for abuses.

Any person who removes material from the library without authority, damages, or fails to return library materials can be prosecuted for library theft under Oklahoma Statute 21-1739.

Community Borrowers Privilege

Non-students can purchase a Community Borrower's Card for $25 a year. This allows them to borrow 5 books at a time. Videotapes, audiovisual materials, and electronic equipment may not be borrowed. Borrowing privileges will be revoked if books are not returned by their due date.

Last Revision 11/07, 9/13, 8/14, 9/15, 6/17

Last updated: 6/01/17. Email the Library Webmaster
OSU-Tulsa on Facebook OSU-Tulsa on Twitter OSU-Tulsa on You Tube